Roles may need to be added or removed from different users for various reasons. Only admins are able to add and remove roles to/from users.

Users can be updated one by one or in groups. Removing all user roles completely will result in that user being removed from the team. A warning will show before doing this.

Learn more about roles in Postal!

Contents

  1. Single Updating User Roles

  2. Mass Updating User Roles

Roles that can be added or removed:

  • User

  • Manager

  • Admin (Only to primary account team)

Note: this article will attempt to differentiate the user (referring to anyone who uses the software) from the role known as 'User' (referring to the role that allows sending of items) by capitalizing Users (the role) where applicable.


Single Updating User Roles

Generally, users are updated within teams. We'll start with that workflow. As an Admin, start in 'Profile Settings'.

Note: If you do not have teams set up in Postal this guide is still relevant. Skip to this part of the guide.

  • Select 'Teams' from the available tabs

  • Select the team that the user lives in (ex. below)

  • Select the 'Role' in the Roles column on the far right

  • Then select the new role. The checkmark indicates the role that has been assigned.

  • To remove the role, select the role. The gray checkmark will disappear indicating the role is unassigned.

Note: if you deselect all roles the team member will be removed from the team. To completely remove access, all roles from all applicable teams must be removed.

The role should now be updated!

Active Users tab

This can also be accomplished from the 'Active Users' tab by selecting the roles assigned to them from the right.

  • You can then edit the Roles on their respective teams as outlined above.


Mass Updating User Roles

Mass Updating User Roles can be done from inside 'Teams' or from the 'Active Users' tab. This action is used primarily when you need to delete a team or add users in mass to a new team.

Generally, users are updated within teams. We'll start with that workflow.

Note: If you do not have teams set up in Postal this guide is still relevant. Skip to this part of the guide.

  • Select 'Teams' from the available tabs

  • Select the team that the user lives in

  • Select all contacts

  • Select the 'Update Roles' icon

  • In the pop-up window, select or deselect the roles you want to add to these users.

  • Finally, select 'Update Roles'

Note: Deselecting a role will remove the user from that team.

Active Users tab

This can be accomplished from the 'Active Users' tab as well.

  • Select all contacts and then the 'Update Roles' icon

  • Select the teams the users exist on and the roles that need to be updated.

Select 'Update Roles'. User roles are now updated.


If you need additional assistance please use our chat support or email us at [email protected].

Did this answer your question?